Metablog the Third: Writer’s Block

Given the mild homage to Blackadder in the title, you might be expecting a Regency vibe to this post – should this be the case, you should prepare yourself for disappointment.  If it would help, you could imagine me as a dandy with a bicycle, or a sort of Beau Bummel as it were (with apologies to the late Jerome K Jerome – so good they named him twice -for that very weak pun).

The lack of new material on this blog over the last week has led to consternation among the chattering classes (or so I believe), questions may even have been asked in the House (or at least, in a house).  Some may have feared that the author had been for a premature river cruise with Charon at the helm, but I can assure you that I am not blogging from beyond the veil.  Probably as well, given that while Greece remains (however tenuously) part of the Euro, I’m not sure where I’d find the obols necessary to pay my passage across the Styx (would the ferryman take Eurocents I wonder?).

Others may have assumed that GofaDM had been caught up in the scandals surrounding News International and that the previous post was the last (well, the last before a re-launch of the same old tat under a new name when the furore had died down).  I can re-assure the worried reader that I have not been indulging in any ‘phone hacking and will not be resigning from this blog any time soon.  I can still remember when hacking was an equestrian pursuit (though this may be as a result of traumatic, early exposure to the work of the Pullein-Thompson sisters) or an adjective applied to a smoker’s cough. Neither context, I fear, would explain its current application to electronic breaking-and-entering.

No, the lack of electronic postage can be explained by a brief estrangement between myself and my muse.  Perhaps the surfeit of comedy over last weekend at the Cambridge Comedy Festival left my head so full of the comic observations of others that there was no room left for my own dodgy quips.   Though, on the plus side, I did make physical contact with a celebrity – Tom Price, minor star of Torchwood (and very entertaining stand-up) – who provided me with a new nickname, viz Knuckles.  I also saw the definitive stage representation of Queen Elizabeth I – forget your Judi Dench or Cate Blanchett – Michael Legge gave a bravura  performance as the Virgin Queen: sans scenery, costume or make-up.  It was like Gloriana herself was in the room!

Whatever the cause, for some reason nothing new seemed to happen during the week which required comic juxtaposition (or my feeble attempts at the same).  However, the hiatus is now at an end – posting is well and truly resumed!

2 thoughts on “Metablog the Third: Writer’s Block

  1. matathew says:

    The lack of new material on this blog over the last week has led to consternation among the chattering classes (or so I believe), questions may even have been asked in the House (or at least, in a house).
    I can confirm that questions were certainly asked on more than one occasion in a tent.

  2. Stuart Ffoulkes says:

    My! Hasn’t camping come on since the days of my youth! Am I correct to believe that wi-fi is now available in tents? Then again, whilst you say that questions were asked, you don’t specify that they were questions related to this blog.

    On the other hand, a friend was posted to Basra with the TA a few years back and claimed that his tent had air-conditioning – so I suppose anything is possible…

Feel free to continue the lunacy...

