X Factor

As a lapsed mathematician, I am more than happy to manipulate x to achieve my algebraic ends and have some experience using factors.

Given my nascent singing career, I’ve decided it’s time to take on Simon Cowell at his own game.  However, before I launch my new career as a pop star, I’ve decided that I could do with my own backing group – it is surprisingly hard to play an instrument and sing at the same time, even with the piano it is unexpectedly tricky and with the clarinet it’s well nigh impossible.  Having studied Group theory at degree level, I have some “views” on the nature of the group – or it could easily degenerate into a backing set and an operation.  Many of the more usual pop group sizes only generate a rather boring cyclic group, and so unless I am willing to go the So Solid Crew route (which I fear would require an HR department to manage) I’m thinking that 4, 6 or 8 members would provide a more interesting structure (S3 perhaps?  A name and a structure in one).

However, the only real decision I have made (so far) is an insistence that the bassist should be orthonormal.

I suspect non-mathematicians may require some period of study to understand this post, but even should they obtain a degree in Pure Maths may still find its humour elusive.

Feel free to continue the lunacy...

